April 22, 2024
  • 3:47 pm Lubbock County crash kills 1, injures 2
  • 3:47 pm Sudan teen killed in Hockley County crash
  • 3:46 pm 17 Muleshoe Mules heading to regional track
  • 3:46 pm Muleshoe City Council appoints judges for May 8 Special Election
  • 3:45 pm Here are the Muleshoe Art Association’s Spring Show winners

PORTALES—Eastern New Mexico University in Portales announces the juried results of the tenth annual K through ENMU Juried Community Youth Art Exhibition as part of National Youth Art Month in March.
The public exhibition is scheduled to run Feb. 25 through March 22, 2019 in ENMU Runnels Gallery, located within the ENMU Golden Student Success Center (GSSC). The GSSC is open Monday through Thursday, 7:30 a.m. to midnight; Friday, 7:30 a.m. to 9 p.m.; Saturday, noon to 9 p.m.; Sunday, noon to midnight (during the regular academic year, excluding holidays)
K through ENMU started ten years ago with its first exhibition hosted in the lobby of the Golden Library with a small, but powerful showing of artwork from students in Portales, New Mexico. Seeing a need in the community for such an event, the Portales Arts Council originally conceived the event. After the second year, the Runnels Gallery took ownership and has since been the caretaker of K through ENMU. The exhibition has grown to include student artwork from schools all over New Mexico and West Texas.
In 2019 we are pleased to present 104 selections of art and design work for inclusion in the tenth anniversary exhibition.  The gallery received over 330 individual submissions this year from various schools and individuals from across the region. The exhibition was free to enter and open to all public, private and homeschooled students.
The jury panel consisted of four members; two professional artists, one pre-professional and one lover of art/academic scholar. The panel adjudicated submitted art and design work based on three criteria:
First Impression (How powerful is the first impression?)
Creativity (To what degree of originality and creativity is the work?)
Artist’s Voice (Is the artist’s voice heard and seen in the work and can his/her personal perspective of the world around them be seen?)
Scores from all four jurists were averaged together to determine Best of Show and division placement winners. The artist with the highest overall average was awarded Best of Show. The remaining highest scores determined first, second and third placements within the following divisions:
Elementary Division (kindergarten-fourth grade)
Junior High School Division (fifth grade-eighth grade)
High School Division (freshman-senior/high school level)
College Division (freshman-senior).
Best of Show and other placement winners will be announced at the public reception and awards ceremony, Friday, March 22, 2019, in the gallery. The reception starts at 5 p.m. with introductions of all artists and announcement of winners starting at 5:45 p.m.
“This is a great event for young aspiring artists to get involved with,” explains Bryan Hahn, gallery manager. “Artists are given the opportunity to experience what a juried show is like, how it feels to have their work displayed in a professional gallery, and the experience of selling their work if they so choose. The exhibition also gives an opportunity for the community to see what our young artists are creating; there are some great things happening artistically among our youth.”
For more information contact Bryan Hahn at Bryan.Hahn@enmu.edu
Artists (by school) selected for this year’s event include:

*Muleshoe High School, Muleshoe, TX
Aaliyah Rey
Luke Leal
*Watson Junior High School, Muleshoe, TX
Anastasia Soto
Gladys Garcia Torres
Mireya Garcia
Selah Smith
Brown Elementary School, Portales, NM
Lily Sweeten
Isabella Houser
Sawyer Jean Seifert
Caprock High School, Amarillo, TX
Gage C. Jennings
Noah J. Taylor
Precious B. Quiah
R.J. F. Hintergardt
Central New Mexico Community College, Albuquerque, NM
Catherine Frechette
Clovis Christian School, Clovis, NM
Victoria Rose Warwick
Clovis High School, Clovis, NM
Evan Kovacs
Justin Fuentes
Teaya Johnson
Tiana Hall
Clovis High School Freshman Academy, Clovis, NM
Elizabeth Majkrzak
Morgan Thorn
Denver City High School, Denver City, TX
Anahi Perez
Hannah Leyva
Katie Hollen
Dora Consolidated School, Dora, NM
Dakodi Smid
Eastern New Mexico University, Portales, NM
Alysha Guss
Arien Mendoza
Ashley Parker
Autumn Burrows
Bryce D. Thompson
Cindy Gentry
Citlali Torres
Devon Segura
Issac Martinez
Kynzie Amarilla
Louis Bolander
Maegan Stegemoeller
Marguerite Rene Frechette
Marissa Martinez
Michele Perry
Raven Lente
Trenna McKinley
Van Thang
Vanessa Miranda
Yessica Rodriguez Puente
Elida Municipal Schools, Elida, NM
Jayce Victor
Farwell High School, Farwell, TX
Aaron Meza
Adrian Munoz
Carlos Castillo III
Gabriel Vara
Guerrero Olmos Jr.
Leo Ruiz
Shyanne Jones
Sylvia Galvan
Floyd Municipals Schools, Floyd, NM
Tessa Shortt
Fort Sumner High School, Fort Sumner, NM
Daejon Coronado
Elicia Vallejos
Evangelese Enriquez
Jalene Andreas
Jolene Spurlin
Fort Sumner Middle School, Fort Sumner, NM
James Griego
Preslie Cavett
Savannah Stanczak
Highland Middle School, Hobbs, NM
Trinity Brijalba
James Elementary School, Portales, NM
Glisten Aguirre
Grace Walton
Jeramiah Ramos
Rudiger Gossett
Lindsey Steiner Elementary School, Portales, NM
Skyler Massey
Marshall Middle School, Clovis, NM
Cayley Martell
Gracie Beevers
McCord Classical Academy, Clovis, NM
Javan McCrod
Keilah McCord
Melrose Elementary School, Melrose, NM
Arria Arenivar
Bently Noble
Harli Windham
Kaylie Ann McDonald
Kyrra Paynee
Noelani Music
Tiffany Roach
Mora Elementary School, Mora, NM
Aleigha Hare
Angelyna Ruiz
Ashamery Vigil-Sandoval
Bailey Montoya
Gabriel Martinez
Isabella French
Joel A. Herrera
Mountain View Middle School, Roswell, NM
Aymara Rosales
Emely Enriquez
Portales High School, Portales, NM
December Griffith
Portales Junior High School, Portales, NM
Alexandra Arceo
Jude Montoya
Sanjana Chava
Shaylee Seright
Sandia Elementary School, Clovis, NM
Lauren Muraco
Santa Rosa Middle School, Santa Rosa, NM
Gianna Campos
Sudan High School, Sudan, TX
Veronica Roa
Sudan Junior High School, Sudan, TX
Dawson Tucker
Texico High School, Texico, NM
Breannan Cooper
Elda Vrrutia
Jacee Hagler
Valencia Elementary School, Portales, NM
Bryn Privett
Lucia Walton
Yucca Middle School, Clovis, NM
Azlyn Crain
Zia Elementary School, Clovis, NM
Xochilt Garcia

Rhea Gonzales


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: