February 23, 2024
  • 5:10 pm SEASON PREVIEW: Muleshoe baseball and softball aiming to put itself on the map in 2024
  • 5:09 pm City Council orders City General Election, Special Election
  • 5:09 pm Driftwood and eyes that see
  • 5:08 pm The mayor of Needmore
  • 5:05 pm A class act is what she is


NHS inductees from 2020-2021 and those from 2021-2022 are shown along with John Gulley, NHS faculty adviser.

Fifteen Muleshoe High School students were inducted into the National Honor Society on Monday.

National Honor Society members are juniors or seniors with a GPA of at least 3.5 overall. Involvement in school activities also determines who is invited to become a member.

“After we look at the grades, the faculty provides input about character, leadership and service,” Gulley said. “I take the input that the teachers provide and compile it into a document. A faculty council consisting of five teachers appointed by the principal reviews that information and decides which students will be invited to become members of NHS.”

Membership in NHS can be helpful when students fill out college applications.

“Colleges understand what NHS is,” Gulley said. “Listing NHS as one of your activities on a resume or a college application can benefit you.”

National Honor Society was started in Pittsburgh in 1921 by citizens who wanted to recognize all-around good student-citizens active in different organizations and activities.

“NHS is over 100 years old,” Gulley said. “There are more than a million students in NHS with chapters in all 50 states, and even some international chapters.”

NHS has been part of Muleshoe High School at least since 1964 when Gulley was a freshman at MHS. He graduated as president of the National Honor Society.

Gulley, who teaches Spanish II and III and dual credit government, has taught at MHS for 37 years.

Current NHS members are: Arisbel Avilez, Laiza Que, Kaitlynn Hart, Reese Reynolds, Amador Castillo and Brennan Davis.

NHS members inducted Monday are: Dhvni Sharma, Yuritzi Rodriguez-Castro, Mikaela Haseloff, Jonathan Valencia Llanes, Zabry Haseloff, Cash Reeder, Margarita McCrary, Naomi Muniz, Ryan Clifton, Anastasia Soto, Kilonna Burdell, Jazlyn Aguirre, Amri Melton, Anthony Ngo and Samuel Romero.

Gail M. Williams

Muleshoe Journal Correspondent


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: