May 28, 2024
  • 4:43 pm Muleshoe celebrates Class of 2024
  • 4:42 pm ‘Anne with an E’ differs from the Anne you always knew
  • 4:42 pm Gail column: Rumbling aside, presidential candidates will once again take the debate stage
  • 4:41 pm Sinkholes, justice and mercy
  • 4:41 pm Beta Sigma Phi ends year with a road trip

Pictured with the 2024 Woman of the Year Terry Marricle are outgoing chapter  presidents Lynne Box and Char Phillips. 

Provided by Beta Sigma Phi

Zeta Rho and Xi Omicron Xi chapters of Beta Sigma Phi met Tuesday, April 9, in the Bailey County Electric Co-Op meeting room to celebrate Founder’s Day, a yearly event in Beta Sigma Phi sorority to pay homage to the founders of the sorority and to name a Woman of the Year. This year’s honoree is Terry Marricle.

Brenna Birch welcomed members, and Linda Wood led everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance. Vicki Black then led members in the opening ritual, and Cindy Barret said the Beta Sigma Phi grace.

A meal of bacon-wrapped chicken breast in crème sauce, tossed green salad, and sourdough bread was enjoyed, followed by dessert choices of red velvet, confetti, or lemon Bundt cakes with cream cheese icing.

Val McCamish then led members in the Founder’s Day Pledge, and Alice Liles read the message from Laura Ross Wingfield, President of the Executive Council of Beta Sigma Phi International.

Chapter highlights and members with perfect attendance were given for each chapter  by Vicki Black and Brenna Birch.

President Lynne Box recognized the outgoing officers for Zeta Rho and announced incoming officers: Sheila Stevenson will be President, Cindy Barrett is Vice President, Secretary is Vicki Black, Treasurer is Pat Young, and City Council members are Lynne Box and Pat Angeley.  Char Phillips recognized outgoing officers for Xi Omicron Xi and announced incoming officers: she will be President, Linda Wood is Vice President, Brenna Birch is Secretary, Judy Davenport is Treasurer, and Brenna Burch and Val McCamish are City Council Representatives.

Sheila Stevenson honored Zeta Rho’s Member of the Year, Lynne Box, for her involvement in that chapter this past year.

Alice Liles then revealed and honored the 2024 Woman of the Year, Terry Marricle, for her community involvement and leadership in the SnakPak4Kids program.

Pat Young rounded out the program with a report on the Pennies from Heaven fund former member Jo Jinks started when she was a member. The fund is available to any member who finds themselves in need of a little help in an unexpected situation.

The closing ritual was led by Rickie Warren, door prizes were drawn for, and members called it a night.

Those in attendance included Cindy Barrett, Lynne Box, Sandi Chitwood, Vicki Black, Alice Liles, Sheila Stevenson, Pat Young, Melba King, Rickie Warren, Brenna Birch, Char Phillips, Linda Wood, Judy Davenport, Val McCamish, Candice Weaver, and guests Janis Morrison, Woman of the Year for 2022, and Terry Marricle, the new Woman of the Year for 2024.

Alice Liles

Beta Sigma Phi


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: